Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

Find Databases

Kirk Library subscribes to many online databases to support learning and research needs of Centralia College students, faculty, and staff. Access these databases from off campus using your student/employee number and last name.

  • Subject
  • A–Z

Subject List of Databases


All Subjects—Multidiscipline

  • EBSCO HOST Academic Search Complete locked site
    Search for articles in more than 13,600 periodicals (full text available for over 4,700 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as literature, controversial issues, business, health & medicine, psychology, sociology, law, religion, philosophy, media studies, and many more.

  • ProQuest logo Research Library locked site
    Search for articles in more than 5,060 periodicals (full text available for over 3,600 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as controversial issues, business, education, health and medical, law, humanities, psychology, sciences, etc.

Also search in the following databases:

Art

  • ARTstor logo ARTstor locked site
    The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. These community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Business

  • ProQuest logo ABI Inform: Trade & Industry locked site
    Search for in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other business topics in more than 3,140 publications (full text available for over 2,930). Covers a wide range of trades and industries, including finance, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and many more.

  • EBSCO HOST Business Source Complete locked site
    Search for articles in more than 13,000 business-related periodicals, including Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review, and Journal of Accounting. It also contains country economic reports from EIU, company profiles from Datamonitor, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

  • Lexis Nexis logo Lexis Nexis Academic locked site
    Find comprehensive coverage of business, legal topics, news and current events, from over 5,800 publications. Content includes company profiles and financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles, international and domestic newspapers (over 350), magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), and many more.

Also search in the following databases:

Careers

    Job descriptions, career outlook, salary, training, statistics, and more:
Find out which school in WA offers a certificate or degree program for your career: Websites:

Controversial Issues

  • CQ Researcher logo CQ Researcher locked site
    Provides background information and analysis of social issues and controversial topics. Each report includes an overview of the topic, background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate; and bibliographies of key sources.

  • Opposing Viewpoints logo Opposing Viewpoints locked site
    Based on the Opposing Viewpoint series, find viewpoint essays written by experts that examine controversial issues from a variety of perspectives as well as thousands of statistics, newspaper and magazine articles, images, primary source documents, Web site links, and podcasts on a wide variety of current-event topics.

Also search in the following databases:

eBooks

  • EBSCO eBooks logo eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) locked site
    EBSCOhost eBook Collection includes nearly 3,000 college level ebooks in a variety of subjects, including literature, history, business, political science, technology, and more.

  • eBrary logo eBrary locked site
    Our largest ebook collection provides access to over 30,500 college level books on a variety of topics that are likely to be relevant to community college students.

Also find other eBooks in the following databases:

Education

  • EBSCO HOST logo ERIC locked site
    Find more 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), which provides education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

Also search in the following databases:

Environment

  • EBSCO HOST logo GreenFILE locked site
    Find articles that draw the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, natural sciences, law, health, technology, sociology, and political science. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Also search in the following databases:

Health & Medical

  • ProQuest logo Family Health locked site
    Search in over 380 periodicals on an enormous range of health issues. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

  • Gale Health Reference Center logo Health Reference Center: Academic locked site
    Find articles in respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.

Also search in the following databases:

History

  • Centralia College Digital Archive Centralia College Digital Archives locked site
    Documenting the College's history, the Archives comprise of five collections: "From Capitol to Campus: Mason and Spafford Murals Research Center," "Centralia College Photograph Archive," "Centralia College Documents Archive," "Centralia College Clippings Archive," and the "Centralia College Yearbooks Collection." Users may search each collection separately or across all five at the same time. Covers 1925 to present. AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.

  • Gale History in Context logo U.S. History in Context locked site
    Provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals. Also includes image galleries containing seals, maps, and flags.

Also search in the following databases:

Literature

  • Gale Contemporary Authors logo Contemporary Authors locked site
    Find biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.

  • Gale Contemporary Literary Criticism logo Contemporary Literary Criticism locked site
    Find literary criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals focusing on literary topics and individual works of more than 3,000 authors.

Also search in the following databases:

Music

  • Oxford Music Online logo Oxford Music Online  locked site
    Find information on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works from five Grove music dictionaries (Music and Musicians; Opera; Jazz; American Music; and Musical Instruments), The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Content includes sound examples via partnerships with Classical Music Library and DRAM.
  • Naxos Music Library logo Naxos Music Library  locked site
    Comprehensive classical music library. Listen to more than 125,300 CDs. That's equivalent to 1,917,300 tracks of music.

Also search in the following databases:

Newspapers

  • ProQuest logo National Newspapers & Western Newsstand locked site
    Provides access to full text articles from major national newspapers, including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, etc. Also provides access to full text articles from major local and regional newspapers in the West Coast.

  • Lexis Nexis logo Lexis Nexis Academic – All News locked site
    Search for extensive news coverage from over 2,500 local, national, and international newspapers and more than 2,000 magazines, journals, and newsletters. Content includes wire services from the Associated Press and broadcast transcripts from major TV and radio networks, such as NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN.

  • Grolier Online logo World Newspapers locked site
    Find links to over 1,100 online newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.

Nursing

  • American Journal of Nursing logo American Journal of Nursing locked site
    Full-text coverage of The American Journal of Nursing, the oldest broad-based nursing journal in the world. It is peer-reviewed and evidence-based, with a global perspective.

  • ProQuest logo Nursing & Allied Health Source locked site
    Find reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, evidence based nursing, and much more. Contents include over 850 periodicals (full text available for over 715) and over 12,000 full-text dissertations.

Also search in the following databases:

Pre-College

  • ProQuest logo eLibrary locked site
    Pre-college level. Provides more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus over 7 million maps, photographs, infographics, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and top-quality multimedia (audio/video) clips.

  • Grolier Online logo Encyclopedia Americana locked site
    Pre-college level. Based on the Encyclopedia Americana, a general encyclopedia best for pre-college students.

Reference (Dictionaries & Encyclopedias)

  • Credo Reference logo Credo Reference locked site
    Find over 3 million encyclopedia and dictionary entries in more than 600 top quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library logo Gale Virtual Reference Library locked site
    Find a selection of individually purchased reference ebooks on a variety of topics for Centralia College students, faculty, and staff. Titles include: CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business; Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice; Endangered Species: Protecting Biodiversity; Energy: Supplies, Sustainability, and Costs; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; and many more.

  • Oxford English Dictionary logo Oxford English Dictionary locked site
    Find the meanings of words from the definitive record of the English language. Learn the origin of words and when they entered the English language as well as how to use the word in sentences.

Also search in the following databases:

Statistics

  • Statista logo Statista locked site
    Find statistics, facts, and market data on over 600 international industries from 18,000 North American, European, and Asian sources of data, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

Also search in the following databases:

World Cultures

  • ProQuest logo CultureGrams locked site
    Find reports on over 180 countries of the word, which includes information on their people, culture and customs, population, government, economics, lifestyles, education, health, transportation and communications, and many other aspects.

Also search in the following databases:

Videos & Film

  • Films on Demand logo Films on Demand locked site
    Watch over 18,000 online videos on a variety of topics from top-quality educational filmmakers and news shows, including Films for Humanities & Sciences, NOVA, PBS, BBC, TED, Frontline, National Geographic, ABC Nightline, History Channel, and more.

A–Z List of Databases

  • ProQuest logo ABI Inform: Trade & Industry locked site
    Search for in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other business topics in more than 3,140 publications (full text available for over 2,930). Covers a wide range of trades and industries, including finance, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and many more.

  • EBSCO HOST Academic Search Complete locked site
    Search for articles in more than 13,600 periodicals (full text available for over 4,700 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as literature, controversial issues, business, health & medicine, psychology, sociology, law, religion, philosophy, media studies, and many more.

  • American Journal of Nursing logo American Journal of Nursing locked site
    Full-text coverage of The American Journal of Nursing, the oldest broad-based nursing journal in the world. It is peer-reviewed and evidence-based, with a global perspective.

  • ARTstor logo ARTstor locked site
    The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. These community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

  • EBSCO HOST Business Source Complete locked site
    Search for articles in more than 13,000 business-related periodicals, including Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review, and Journal of Accounting. It also contains country economic reports from EIU, company profiles from Datamonitor, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

  • Centralia College Digital Archive Centralia College Digital Archives locked site
    Documenting the College's history, the Archives comprise of five collections: "From Capitol to Campus: Mason and Spafford Murals Research Center," "Centralia College Photograph Archive," "Centralia College Documents Archive," "Centralia College Clippings Archive," and the "Centralia College Yearbooks Collection." Users may search each collection separately or across all five at the same time. Covers 1925 to present. AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.

  • Gale Contemporary Authors logo Contemporary Authors locked site
    Find biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.

  • Gale Contemporary Literary Criticism logo Contemporary Literary Criticism locked site
    Find literary criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals focusing on literary topics and individual works of more than 3,000 authors.

  • CQ Researcher logo CQ Researcher locked site
    Provides background information and analysis of social issues and controversial topics. Each report includes an overview of the topic, background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate; and bibliographies of key sources.

  • Credo Reference logo Credo Reference locked site
    Find over 3 million encyclopedia and dictionary entries in more than 600 top quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

  • ProQuest logo CultureGrams locked site
    Find reports on over 180 countries of the word, which includes information on their people, culture and customs, population, government, economics, lifestyles, education, health, transportation and communications, and many other aspects.

  • EBSCO eBooks logo eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) locked site
    EBSCOhost eBook Collection includes nearly 3,000 college level ebooks in a variety of subjects, including literature, history, business, political science, technology, and more.

  • eBrary logo eBrary locked site
    Our largest ebook collection provides access to over 30,500 college level books on a variety of topics that are likely to be relevant to community college students.

  • ProQuest logo eLibrary locked site
    Pre-college level. Provides more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus over 7 million maps, photographs, infographics, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and top-quality multimedia (audio/video) clips.

  • Grolier Online logo Encyclopedia Americana locked site
    Pre-college level. Based on the Encyclopedia Americana, a general encyclopedia best for pre-college students.

  • EBSCO HOST logo ERIC locked site
    Find more 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), which provides education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

  • ProQuest logo Family Health locked site
    Search in over 380 periodicals on an enormous range of health issues. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

  • Films on Demand logo Films on Demand locked site
    Watch over 18,000 online videos on a variety of topics from top-quality educational filmmakers and news shows, including Films for Humanities & Sciences, NOVA, PBS, BBC, TED, Frontline, National Geographic, ABC Nightline, History Channel, and more.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library logo Gale Virtual Reference Library locked site
    Find a selection of individually purchased reference ebooks on a variety of topics for Centralia College students, faculty, and staff. Titles include: CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business; Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice; Endangered Species: Protecting Biodiversity; Energy: Supplies, Sustainability, and Costs; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; and many more.

  • EBSCO HOST logo GreenFILE locked site
    Find articles that draw the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, natural sciences, law, health, technology, sociology, and political science. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

  • Gale Health Reference Center logo Health Reference Center: Academic locked site
    Find articles in respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.

  • Lexis Nexis logo Lexis Nexis Academic locked site
    Find comprehensive coverage of business, legal topics, news and current events, from over 5,800 publications. Content includes company profiles and financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles, international and domestic newspapers (over 350), magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), and many more.

  • ProQuest logo National Newspapers & Western Newsstand locked site
    Provides access to full text articles from major national newspapers, including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, etc. Also provides access to full text articles from major local and regional newspapers in the West Coast.

  • Naxos Music Library logo Naxos Music Library  locked site
    Comprehensive classical music library. Listen to more than 125,300 CDs. That's equivalent to 1,917,300 tracks of music.

  • ProQuest logo Nursing & Allied Health Source locked site
    Find reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, evidence based nursing, and much more. Contents include over 850 periodicals (full text available for over 715) and over 12,000 full-text dissertations.

  • Opposing Viewpoints logo Opposing Viewpoints locked site
    Based on the Opposing Viewpoints series, find viewpoint essays written by experts that examine controversial issues from a variety of perspectives as well as thousands of statistics, newspaper and magazine articles, images, primary source documents, Web site links, and podcasts on a wide variety of current-event topics.

  • Oxford English Dictionary logo Oxford English Dictionary locked site
    Find the meanings of words from the definitive record of the English language. Learn the origin of words and when they entered the English language as well as how to use the word in sentences.

  • Oxford Music Online logo Oxford Music Online locked site
    Find information on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works from five Grove music dictionaries (Music and Musicians; Opera; Jazz; American Music; and Musical Instruments), The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Content includes sound examples via partnerships with Classical Music Library and DRAM.

  • ProQuest logo Research Library locked site
    Search for articles in more than 5,060 periodicals (full text available for over 3,600 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as controversial issues, business, education, health and medical, law, humanities, psychology, sciences, etc.

  • Statista logo Statista locked site
    Find statistics, facts, and market data on over 600 international industries from 18,000 North American, European, and Asian sources of data, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

  • Gale History in Context logo U.S. History in Context locked site
    Provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals. Also includes image galleries containing seals, maps, and flags.